All motorists know, or should know, their obligations when involved in an accident. These duties are uniform throughout the country with some few differences and subtleties of which many motorists may not be aware, some of which depend on whether the accident was property damage only or involved injuries. The penalties for not fulfilling these obligations also depend on whether the accident involved injuries or death or was property damage only.
Motorists fail to remain at the scene of an accident for various reasons. If a driver caused an accident by erratic driving that caused another vehicle to take severe evasive action that resulted in a collision with another car or object, then the at-fault driver might have been unaware that an accident took place. Another example is a driver who may have struck a pedestrian on a dimly lit road and was unaware that a person was injured. Other reasons include:
Fleeing the scene of an accident is either a misdemeanor, if only property damage occurred, or a felony if there were injuries or a fatality.
Duties in a Property Damage Only Accident
Under Fla. Statutes § 316.061-063, you are required to stop and give certain information to the other motorist or property owner. Your statutory duties include:
Your failure to abide by these duties is a second degree misdemeanor under Florida law, which carries a penalty of up to 60-days in jail and a $500 fine.
Duties in an Injury or Fatal Accident
Your duties in case of an injury accident or where a fatality has occurred are found under Fla. Statutes § 316.027 and 316.062. Your responsibilities under these circumstances are similar with added responsibilities:
Should you not perform these duties, you are subject to prosecution as a third degree felony. If convicted, you face:
In case a fatal accident occurred, all of these duties except for providing your identifying information to the other motorist must be followed.
If you fled the scene of a fatal accident or did stop but neglected to call 911 or notify police or do anything to render assistance, you face first degree felony charges. A first degree felony carries:
Your sentence may be enhanced if you are found to be under the influence of alcohol or drugs while fleeing the scene of an injury or fatal accident. The law imposes a 2-year mandatory minimum prison sentence under these circumstances.
Proof Required and Defenses
To prove that you violated any of the relevant Florida statutes relating to leaving the scene of an accident, the prosecution must prove beyond a reasonable doubt all the elements of the crime:
As indicated, there are scenarios where a defendant was unaware of the accident or where the other party at the scene advised the defendant that no assistance was needed or that no further action was required.
In cases where a defendant is later arrested and found to be under the influence, the state must prove that the defendant was under the influence at the time of the accident and that the defendant did not become intoxicated at a subsequent time.
Retain an Experienced Criminal Defense Lawyer
In many criminal cases, early representation is the key to a favorable resolution. If you are charged with leaving the scene of an accident, an experienced defense lawyer can contact the police or the prosecuting attorney before arraignment or shortly thereafter to explain the circumstances of the accident or to point out the lack of evidence. It is also imperative that you speak to an attorney before you make any statements to the police.
Our firm is committed to keeping our site accessible to everyone. We welcome feedback on ways to improve the site’s accessibility.
With decades of combined legal experience, Cowhey + Ward brings an unprecedented depth of expertise and passion in the representation of their clients.